The fee for docketing a judgment obtained in a Virginia court is $10. Judgments that do not meet the requirements of Code of Virginia Section 8.01-446 cannot be docketed and will be returned to the presenting party. Payment may be made by cash, check, or money order payable to the Circuit Court Clerk. Debit and credit cards are not accepted.
Foreign judgments filed in accordance with the Uniform Enforcement of Foreign Judgments Act or the Uniform Foreign Country Money - Judgments Recognition Act are docketed for a fee of $25. Payment may be made by cash, check, or money order payable to the Circuit Court Clerk. Debit and credit cards are not accepted.
There is no fee to record a judgment release presented by a judgment creditor. Forms for releasing a judgment are available through the Supreme Court of Virginia website.
The Circuit Court Clerk's Office is located at 550 Boulevard. Recording hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. Documents presented after normal recording hours will be recorded the next business day.
For additional information, contact the Circuit Court Clerk's Office at (804) 520-9364.