Go To Search
Click to Home

Obtaining a Marriage License & Copies
Obtaining a Marriage License
Marriage licenses are issued regardless of the applicants' county of residence as long as the marriage will take place in Virginia. The fee for a license is $33. The fee payment must be made by cash.

Hours & Location
Marriage licenses are issued at the Circuit Court Clerk's Office during regular business hours, which are Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 3:30 pm. The Circuit Court Clerk's Office is located at 550 Boulevard.

Requirements
The bride and groom must be present and present their photo IDs. A self-addressed, stamped envelope should be presented for the return of a certified copy of the license. Blood tests are not required.

License Expiration
The marriage license is valid for 60 days. If the marriage does not take place within 60 days from the date the license was issued, a new license must be issued, and additional fees must be tendered. The original license must be returned to the Circuit Court Clerk's office. There is no provision for a refund.

Application
Download the Marriage License Application.

Returning the License
After the wedding, the marriage celebrant should return the executed marriage license to the Circuit Court Clerk's Office for permanent retention. Upon receipt, a certified copy of the marriage license is mailed to the couple.

Marriage License Copies
Certified copies of marriage licenses cost $3 each and are available by written request or in the Circuit Court Clerk's Office during regular business hours. Payment may be made by cash, check, or money order payable to the Circuit Court Clerk. Debit and credit cards are not accepted.

Written Permission Required for Marriage Licenses Issued July 1, 1997 - June 30, 2001
For marriage licenses issued between July 1, 1997, and June 30, 2001, Virginia law requires that the Circuit Court Clerk's Office obtain written permission from the bride or groom before providing a copy to any party. Written permission is required even if the person requesting the copy is the bride or groom. Written requests for certified copies of a marriage license should include:
  • Bride's maiden name
  • Check or money order for $3 made payable to the Circuit Court Clerk
  • Date of marriage
  • Groom's name
  • Notarized signature of the bride and / or groom
  • Self-addressed, stamped envelope


If the bride or groom's signature is not notarized, he or she should send a copy of a photo ID (preferably a driver's license) so that the Circuit Court Clerk's Office may confirm identification before providing the requested copies.

Licenses Issued Prior to July 1,1997 & After June 30, 2011

For copies of licenses issued prior to July 1, 1997, or after June 30, 2001, access is not limited to the bride and groom. Written requests for certified copies should include:
  • Bride's maiden name
  • Check or money order for $3 made payable to the Circuit Court Clerk
  • Date of marriage
  • Groom's name
  • Self-addressed, stamped envelope